The year 2020 made everyone suddenly aware of what disruptiveness means. Old ways of thinking, working and business models lost their justification from one day to the next or had to be radically adapted to the new circumstances. In the search for a new confidence for companies and organizations, for the individual as well as for society as a whole, images of the future are needed - attractive on the one hand, credibly feasible on the other. Not just visions and utopias. It is about something that designers are particularly good at: Anticipating the future and making it tangible!

Good design drives sustainability. Interactive with many other disciplines, with research and science, design develops perspectives worth living. How will we live, learn, communicate and work tomorrow? It's all a question of design!

That is why the MUNICH CREATIVE BUSINESS WEEK (MCBW) 2021, in the tenth year of its existence, is explicitly concerned with images of the future: "Shaping futures by Design". In six central MCBW thematic areas (the future of cities, education, security, work, health and communication), the MCBW will present what designers and companies are already doing and will continue to do.

Das Jahr 2020 hat allen schlag­ar­tig bewusst gemacht, was Dis­rup­ti­vi­tät bedeu­tet. Alte Denk­mus­ter, Arbeits- und Geschäfts­mo­del­le ver­lo­ren von heu­te auf mor­gen ihre Berech­ti­gung bzw. muss­ten den neu­en Gege­ben­hei­ten radi­kal ange­passt wer­den. Auf der Suche nach einer neu­en Zuver­sicht für Unter­neh­men wie Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen, für den ein­zel­nen Men­schen wie auch für die Gesell­schaft als Gan­zes braucht es Zukunfts­bil­der – attrak­tiv einer­seits, glaub­wür­dig mach­bar ande­rer­seits. Eben kei­ne Visio­nen und kei­ne Uto­pien. Es geht um etwas, das Gestalter*innen beson­ders gut kön­nen: Zukunft anti­zi­pie­ren und greif­bar machen!

Gute Gestal­tung treibt Nach­hal­tig­keit vor­an. Inter­ak­tiv mit vie­len ande­ren Dis­zi­pli­nen, mit For­schung und Wis­sen­schaft ent­wi­ckelt Design lebens­wer­te Per­spek­ti­ven. Wie wir mor­gen leben, ler­nen, kom­mu­ni­zie­ren und arbei­ten? Alles auch eine Fra­ge der Gestaltung!

Des­halb befasst sich die MUNICH CREA­TI­VE BUSI­NESS WEEK (MCBW) 2021 im zehn­ten Jahr ihres Bestehens ganz expli­zit mit Zukunfts­bil­dern: »Shaping futures by Design«. In sechs zen­tra­len MCBW The­men­fel­der (Zukunft der Städ­te, Bil­dung, Sicher­heit, Arbeit, Gesund­heit und der Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­on) prä­sen­tiert die MCBW, was Gestalter:innen und Unter­neh­men dafür bereits tun und noch leis­ten werden.