18. January 2021

Fed­er­al Award Ecode­sign 2021

For ten years now, the Fed­er­al Ecode­sign Award has been demon­strat­ing how envi­ron­men­tal and cli­mate pro­tec­tion, inno­va­tion and excel­lent design can be com­bined. In its anniver­sary year 2021, the jury of the high­est state award for eco­log­i­cal design is once again look­ing for for­ward-look­ing con­cepts, ser­vices and prod­ucts. Com­pa­nies of all sizes and sec­tors, stu­dents and pio­neers in the nation­al and inter­na­tion­al are­na are invit­ed to apply by April 12, 2021.

In order to con­serve resources and the cli­mate and ensure qual­i­ty of life for future gen­er­a­tions, we need designs that are suit­able for every­day use and cre­ative ideas on how sus­tain­abil­i­ty can be lived. Com­pe­ti­tion entries can be sub­mit­ted in the cat­e­gories of con­cept, ser­vice, prod­uct or new­com­er. What counts is an eco­log­i­cal­ly as well as aes­thet­i­cal­ly con­vinc­ing design.

To mark the anniver­sary, var­i­ous activ­i­ties are being planned around the meet­ing of the jury in Sep­tem­ber and the award cer­e­mo­ny in Decem­ber 2021 to bring the top­ic and the good exam­ples from the com­pe­ti­tion to the wider public.
With the award of the Fed­er­al Ecode­sign Prize, the Fed­er­al Min­istry for the Envi­ron­ment (BMU) and the Fed­er­al Envi­ron­ment Agency (UBA) in coop­er­a­tion with the Inter­na­tion­al Design Cen­ter e.V. have been pro­mot­ing sus­tain­able con­sump­tion since 2012. Since then, more than 2,500 sub­mis­sions have been eval­u­at­ed by a pan­el of experts in a mul­ti-stage process, 269 entries have been nom­i­nat­ed by the inter­dis­ci­pli­nary jury, and final­ly 91 out­stand­ing projects have been award­ed the design prize.

The win­ners of the com­pe­ti­tion will be announced on Decem­ber 6, 2021, at a fes­tive awards cer­e­mo­ny at the Fed­er­al Min­istry for the Envi­ron­ment. Pro­fes­sion­al image trail­ers will be pro­duced for all award-win­ning sub­mis­sions, which will be made avail­able to the award win­ners and used for the competition’s media rela­tions. In addi­tion, the award-win­ning projects will be pre­sent­ed to the pub­lic in a trav­el­ing exhi­bi­tion. The young tal­ent awards are endowed with a cash sum of 1,000 euros each.