Rethink­ing the Ele­ments of Architecture

Stefan Diez

Designers, engineers and craftsmen design products as building blocks for the architecture and interior of a building. For centuries, these have been designed under the paradigm of efficiency, in the context of a linear economy, and with an awareness of a coherent overall picture - both at the level of buildings and at the level of the cityscape.

In terms of meeting the 2015 Paris Agreement, the building sector is currently under enormous pressure, as the construction industry is responsible for more than one-third of the world's energy consumption and more than one-third of the world's waste. Not only does the manufacture and maintenance of architecture need to be reinvented, but the reuse, disposal and recycling of these components must also focus on the concerns of a circular economy and C02 emissions, which are to be drastically reduced.

"What will our utopias for sustainable living and working look like if we rethink them from the elements of architecture?"
Stefan Diez

The lecture will be a journey through Stefan Diez's practice as an industrial designer, focusing on products for a circular economy, and a look at how he sees the role of industrial designers in collaboration with architects. This topic has also been recently explored in his teaching at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna, where he works with his students on the design of architectural elements that will have a significant impact on the cityscape of the future or that can change in a particular way the way people live together and the way they live in these cities.

Driven by curiosity and supported by a network of local craftsmen and specialists, DIEZ OFFICE dedicates itself with great care and competence to turning ideas into concrete products. Together with his team, Munich-based designer Stefan Diez focuses primarily on the potential of the circular economy and develops everyday products whose components can be easily returned to the material cycle. In 2020, his "Ayno" lamp, which consists of only three primary materials, was awarded the German Sustainability Award.

The lecture and livestream start at 6:30 p.m.

About Stefan Diez and DIEZ OFFICE

After training as a carpenter, Stefan Diez studied industrial design with Richard Sapper at the State Academy of Fine Arts in Stuttgart. After working with Konstantin Grcic for several years, he founded DIEZ OFFICE in Munich in 2002 and is now one of Germany's most successful designers.

From 2007 Stefan Diez was professor of lndustrial Design at the University of Design Karlsruhe and moved to the School of lndustrial Design Lund, Sweden in 2015. Since 2018, Stefan Diez has been head of lndustrial Design at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna.

DIEZ OFFICE designs and develops products for everyday use, focusing in particular on the potential of the circular economy. The working method is characterized by innovation through technical expertise, instinct and a great willingness to experiment. This is how award-winning furniture, lighting and accessories are created in collaboration with internationally renowned manufacturers such as Rosenthal, Thonet, Wilkhahn, HAY, e15, Magis, Vibia, Viccarbe, Wagner, Midgard, Brunner and many more.

Rethin­king the Ele­ments of Architecture

Stefan Diez

Designer:innen, Ingenieur:innen und Handwerker:innen entwerfen Produkte als Bausteine für die Architektur und das Interieur eines Gebäudes. Über Jahrhunderte wurden diese unter dem Paradigma der Effizienz, im Kontext einer linearen Wirtschaft und im Bewusstsein eines kohärenten Gesamtbildes entworfen - sowohl auf der Ebene der Bauwerke als auch auf der Ebene des Stadtbildes.

Im Hinblick auf die Erfüllung des Pariser Abkommens von 2015 steht der Bausektor gegenwärtig unter enormem Druck, da die Bauindustrie für mehr als ein Drittel des weltweiten Energieverbrauchs und mehr als ein Drittel des weltweiten Abfalls verantwortlich ist. Nicht nur Herstellung und Unterhalt der Architektur müssen neu erfunden werden, sondern auch die Wiederverwendung, Entsorgung und Recycling dieser Komponenten müssen sich auf die Belange einer Kreislaufwirtschaft und die C02-Emissionen, die drastisch reduziert werden sollen, konzentrieren.

"Wie werden unsere Utopien für nachhaltiges Leben und Arbeiten aussehen, wenn wir sie von den Elementen der Architektur her neu denken?"
Stefan Diez

Der Vortrag wird eine Reise durch die Praxis von Stefan Diez als Industriedesigner sein, die sich auf Produkte für eine Kreislaufwirtschaft konzentriert, und einen Ausblick darauf geben, wie er die Rolle von Industriedesigner:innen in Zusammenarbeit mit Architekt:innen sieht. Dieses Thema wurde jüngst auch im Rahmen seiner Lehrtätigkeit an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien erforscht, wo er zusammen mit seinen Student:innen an der Gestaltung von architektonischen Elementen arbeitet, die einen signifikanten Einfluss auf das Stadtbild der Zukunft haben werden oder die auf besondere Weise das Zusammenleben der Menschen und die Art und Weise, wie sie in diesen Städten leben, verändern können.

Von Neugier getrieben und unterstützt von einem Netzwerk lokaler Handwerker:innen und Spezialist:innen, widmet sich DIEZ OFFICE mit großer Sorgfalt und Kompetenz der Umsetzung von Ideen in konkrete Produkte. Gemeinsam mit seinem Team setzt der Münchner Designer Stefan Diez vor allem auf das Potenzial der Kreislaufwirtschaft und entwickelt Alltagsprodukte, deren Bestandteile problemlos in den Materialkreislauf zurückgeführt werden können. 2020 wurde seine Leuchte „Ayno", die nur aus drei Primärwerkstoffen besteht, mit dem Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitspreis ausgezeichnet.

Vortrag und Livestream starten um18:30 Uhr.

Über Stefan Diez und DIEZ OFFICE

Nach einer Ausbildung zum Schreiner, studierte Stefan Diez an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart bei Richard Sapper Industriedesign. Nachdem er mehrere Jahre mit Konstantin Grcic zusammengearbeitet hatte, gründete er 2002 DIEZ OFFICE in München und ist heute einer der erfolgreichsten Designer Deutschlands.

Ab 2007 war Stefan Diez Professor für lndustrial Design an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe und wechselte 2015 an die School of lndustrial Design Lund, Schweden. Seit 2018 ist Stefan Diez Leiter des Bereichs lndustrial Design an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien.

DIEZ OFFICE entwirft und entwickelt Produkte für den täglichen Gebrauch und konzentriert sich dabei insbesondere auf das Potenzial der Kreislaufwirtschaft. Dabei ist die Arbeitsweise geprägt von Innovation durch technisches Fachwissen, Instinkt und große Experimentierfreudigkeit. So entstehen preisgekrönte Möbel, Leuchten und Accessoires in Zusammenarbeit mit international renommierten Herstellern wie Rosenthal, Thonet, Wilkhahn, HAY, e15, Magis, Vibia, Viccarbe, Wagner, Midgard, Brunner und vielen mehr.