Cre­ate the meta­verse. Workshop

"The concept of the Metaverse is much more than a video game, a VR application, or a PR coup by Facebook. In one sentence, it's best understood as the next - perhaps even better for society - stage in the evolution of the Internet." Michael Jonas, Simon Graff

The workshop will introduce the various platforms and technologies that can all be grouped under the concept of the Metaverse. From new-work environments, spatial networks to video games, the platforms offer a variety of functions that companies, brands and designers can use for themselves. In addition, different users and communities are addressed on the various platforms.

In the second, applied part of the workshop, participants will design their own avatars under guidance and explore the virtual world and the potential of a metaverse.

Host

The workshop will be led by Prof. Michael Jonas and Simon Graff.

Michael Jonas is Professor of Digital Design and Brand Communication at the Brand University of Applied Science in Hamburg. Jonas has been teaching and researching in the field of augmented, virtual and mixed reality for eight years.

Simon Graff most recently managed XR and innovation projects at Hamburg-based media agency ROBA Impact as Director Innovation before founding Metaverse agency FOR REAL?! in 2021, which focuses on consulting at the intersection of digital trends, virtual experiences and (XR) technology. Simon is also active as a speaker, mentor, advisory board and consultant.

Target group

The event is aimed at companies, designers and interested professionals. Please note: Technical or design knowledge is not necessary.

Ticket

To participate, please register first at Nuremberg Digital Festival. Afterwards you can purchase your ticket via Eventbrite.

Early Bird Ticket: 30 €

Regular Ticket: 45 €

Crea­te the meta­ver­se. Workshop

Nürn­berg Digi­tal Festival

„Das Kon­zept des Meta­ver­se ist viel mehr als ein Video­spiel, eine VR-Anwen­dung oder ein PR-Coup von Face­book. In einem Satz lässt es sich am bes­ten als die nächs­te – viel­leicht sogar für die Gesell­schaft bes­se­re – Ent­wick­lungs­stu­fe des Inter­nets ver­ste­hen.“ Micha­el Jonas, Simon Graff

Im Work­shop wer­den die ver­schie­de­nen Platt­for­men und Tech­no­lo­gien vor­ge­stellt, die alle unter dem Kon­zept des Meta­ver­se zusam­men­ge­fasst wer­den kön­nen. Die Platt­for­men bie­ten von New-Work-Umge­bun­gen, Spa­ti­al Net­works bis zu Video­spie­len, viel­fäl­ti­ge Funk­tio­nen an, wel­che Unter­neh­men, Mar­ken und Designer*innen für sich nut­zen kön­nen. Zudem wer­den auf den ver­schie­de­nen Platt­for­men jeweils ande­re User:innen und Com­mu­nities angesprochen.

Im zwei­ten, ange­wand­ten Teil des Work­shops desi­gnen die Teilnehmer:innen unter Anlei­tung ihre eige­nen Ava­tare und erkun­den damit die vir­tu­el­le Welt und das Poten­ti­al eines Metaversums.

Die Ver­an­stal­tung rich­tet sich an Unter­neh­men, Designer:innen und inter­es­sier­tes Fach­pu­bli­kum. Tech­ni­sche oder gestal­te­ri­sche Vor­kennt­nis­se sind nicht notwendig.

Der Work­shop wird von Prof. Micha­el Jonas und Simon Graff geleitet.

Work­shop­lei­tung

Micha­el Jonas ist Pro­fes­sor für Digi­tal Design und Mar­ken­kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­on an der Brand Uni­ver­si­ty of App­lied Sci­ence in Ham­burg. Jonas lehrt und forscht seit acht Jah­ren im Bereich Aug­men­ted, Vir­tu­al und Mixed Reality.

Simon Graff betreu­te zuletzt als Direc­tor Inno­va­ti­on die XR- und Inno­va­tions-Pro­jek­te der Ham­bur­ger Medi­en­agen­tur ROBA Impact, bevor er 2021 die Meta­ver­se Agen­tur FOR REAL?! grün­de­te, die ihren Fokus auf Bera­tung an der Schnitt­stel­le von digi­ta­len Trends, vir­tu­el­len Erfah­run­gen und (XR) Tech­no­lo­gie legt. Außer­dem ist Simon als Spea­ker, Men­tor, Bei­rat und Bera­ter aktiv.

Tickets

Zur Anmel­dung bit­te zuerst beim Nürn­berg Digi­tal Fes­ti­val regis­trie­ren. Danach ist der Ticket­kauf über Event­bri­te möglich.

Ear­ly Bird Ticket: 30 €

Regu­lä­res Ticket 45 €