27. September 2022

Tran­si­tion in Pack­ag­ing by Design

bayern design and NürnbergMesse to present innovative packaging concepts at the FACHPACK trade fair

Nuremberg, Germany – NürnbergMesse and bayern design have organized a special show titled Transition in Packaging By Design to take place in Hall 7 (booth 432). Analogously to the theme of the trade fair, it will highlight packaging design opportunities brought about by transition processes in society founded on consumers’ ever-changing behaviors. Companies are being challenged to act sustainably in terms of ecology and customer retention. In cooperation with NürnbergMesse, bayern design will present the responses designers and companies are making to these transformations. Ranging from A as in augmented reality through U as in urn to Z as in the zeerooo multi-use system, the innovations on display will provide sources of inspiration for new trends and impulses in the packaging industry and in society. In addition to being exhibited, the pieces will be discussed at a live event at PACKBOX.
Address, Amaze, Advance
Under the keywords ‘Address’, ‘Amaze’ and ‘Advance’ the special show features selected examples of packaging design in which designers and companies make strategic use of packaging: as a means of communication or interaction, or as a field of application for sustainable materials development. The packaging specialists see their mandate for redesign as a playing field where they rely on creative, technical, and communicative innovations to advance sustainability as well as aesthetics.

Address
The packaging concepts submitted by four Münster School of Design students – Madeline Hesse, Elisabeth Freymüller, Frederic Vennemeyer and Jonas Zerr – and by snoopstar address key issues and convey them convincingly. The Münster project addresses the contamination of groundwater through the careless disposal of cigarette butts. The Input cigarette pack features a pull-out tray to house butts until they can be disposed of properly. The Regionique brand of the German company Produktfabrik conveys environmental awareness through transparency: A QR code on each package gives customers an insight into the production and supply chains of the respective product. The concept raises consumer awareness of the problem and at the same time provides a practical way to contribute to change. However, many packaging concepts do not show their sustainable side at first glance. snoopstar uses augmented reality to make sustainable packaging identifiable as such and thus fit for the future.

Advance
Bio-based packaging helps advance society in many ways. Among other advantages, it waives the use of environmentally harmful Styrofoam for impact-sensitive products, the use of disposable food packaging and the use of non-degradable materials in the manufacture of ornamental urns for human remains. In cooperation with GROWN bio, Amen Candles will present a protective mycelium (fungus roots) and hemp fiber wrap. This all-natural packaging is used to send Amen’s fragile and temperature-sensitive scented candles securely around the world. Algae- and plant-based materials are used by the British cleantech company Notpla to avoid disposable packaging wherever possible. This means the edible packaging can simply be swallowed along with the drink. When hand-making ornamental urns from premium-quality paper, urnfold focuses on three things: sustainability, modern aesthetics, and the support of a more personalized culture of grief. The paper fulfills the actual purpose of ornamental urns because it upgrades the mandatory receptacle for ashes optically and emotionally and it decomposes in the ground completely, leaving no residue.

Amaze
The packaging concepts created by designers Hélène Fontaine (Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule Halle) and Sarah Klein are amazingly convincing. Most food packaging is not user-friendly; often tabs are too small and difficult to pull and/or impossible-to-remove lids make handling the foods cumbersome, particularly for people with physical limitations. Titled i-si, Fontaine’s packaging dish has a protruding base and a foil cover with an extended tab. It requires little force to open – even with just one hand. ReWrap, by Sarah Klein, is an innovative solution for transporting food-to-go. The flexibility of the product is due to diverse folding and wrapping techniques. The design of the packaging for French fries and similar foods resembles classic French fries packaging, while falafels still are wrapped as usual. For efficient waste elimination, ReWrap can be reused up to 4000 times and can be offered as part of a refundable-deposit system.

Other exhibitors at the special show include Kebag (döner packaging), outnature (packaging made from fibers from the silphia plant), Philips Hue smart lighting (interactive packaging featuring an alternating colors mechanism), Syntegon (blister meets paper), Van Genechten Packaging (100% recyclable chocolate packaging PurePac without added wrapping material), Vöslauer (Artists for Tomorrow edition), and zerooo Mehrwegsystem (reusable jars and refundable bottles).

In line with the three categories of the special show, on Wednesday September 28 the speakers will focus on packaging design as a means of communication and interaction and as a field of application for sustainable materials development. They will discuss their concepts live at PACKBOX from 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. The packaging experts Thilo Reichert (snoopstar), entrepreneur Sabine Bingenheimer (Produktfabrik), Margaux Deguerre (Head of Marketing Notpla) and founder Kristina Steinhauf (Urnfold) will speak.

Contact
Dr. Kilian Steiner
+49 176 45536984
steiner@bayern-design.de

27. September 2022

Tran­si­ti­on in Pack­a­ging by Design

bayern design und die NürnbergMesse präsentieren innovative Verpackungskonzepte auf der FACHPACK

Nürnberg, – Analog zum Messethema werfen die NürnbergMesse und bayern design in der Sonderschau „Transition in Packaging By Design“ in Halle 7 (Stand 432) ein besonderes Licht auf Chancen, die sich im Verpackungsdesign durch gesellschaftliche Veränderungsprozesse bieten. Grundlage dieser Prozesse ist das sich stets wandelnde Verhalten der Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher. Unternehmen stehen damit vor der Herausforderung, nachhaltig im Sinne der Ökologie und Kundenbindung zu handeln. bayern design zeigt in Kooperation mit der NürnbergMesse, welche Antworten Designerinnen und Designer sowie Unternehmen auf diese Transformationen finden. Die gezeigten Innovationen reichen dabei von A wie Augmented Reality (AR) über U wie Urne bis Z wie dem zeerooo-Mehrwegsystem und sind eine Inspirationsquelle für neue Trends und Impulse in der Verpackungsindustrie und Gesellschaft. Sie werden zusätzlich zur Ausstellung in der sogenannten PACKBOX durch Referentinnen und Referenten auch live erfahrbar gemacht.

Address, Amaze und Advance
Unter den Schlüsselwörtern „Address“ (Ansprechen), „Amaze“ (Verblüffen) und „Advance“ (Voranbringen) zeigt die Sonderschau ausgewählte Beispiele für Verpackungsdesign, bei denen Designerinnen und Designer sowie Unternehmen die Verpackung strategisch nutzen: Als Kommunikationsträger, als Mittel zur Interaktion und als Einsatzfeld nachhaltiger Materialentwicklung. Die Verpackungsspezialistinnen und Verpackungsspezialisten begreifen den Auftrag zur Neugestaltung als Spielfeld für Ästhetik und Nachhaltigkeit. Dabei setzen sie sowohl auf gestalterische wie auch auf technische und kommunikative Innovationen.

Address
Mit ihren Verpackungskonzepten sprechen Madeline Hesse, Elisabeth Freymüller, Frederic Vennemeyer und Jonas Zerr, vier Designstudierende der Münster School of Design, und snoopstar wichtige Themen an und vermitteln diese überzeugend. Das Projekt aus Münster widmet sich der Grundwasserverseuchung durch achtlos weggeworfene Kippen. Deshalb verfügt ihre Zigarettenverpackung „Input“ über ein ausziehbares Zusatzfach, in dem die Stummel bis zur fachgerechten Entsorgung aufbewahrt können. Das Konzept fördert das Problembewusstsein der Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher und liefert zugleich eine praktische Möglichkeit, zum Wandel beizutragen. Die Marke Regionique der Unternehmens Produktfabrik vermittelt Umweltbewusstsein durch Transparenz: Ein QR-Code auf jeder Verpackung ermöglicht Kund:innen einen Einblick in die Produktion und Lieferketten des jeweiligen Produkts. Zahlreiche Verpackungskonzepte sind aber nicht auf den ersten Blick als nachhaltig zu erkennen. snoopstar nutzt hierfür Augmented Reality und macht hierdurch nachhaltige Verpackungen als solche erkennbar und fit für die Zukunft.

Advance
Biobasierte Verpackungen bringen die Gesellschaft in allen Lebenslagen voran. Sei es beim Verzicht auf das umweltschädliche Styropor bei stoßempfindlichen Waren, Einwegverpackungen für Lebensmittel oder auf unverrottbare Schmuckurnen bei der Bestattung. Amen Candles zeigt in Zusammenarbeit mit GROWN bio eine Schutzverpackung aus Mycelium (Pilzwurzeln) und Hanffasern. Mit dieser völlig natürlichen Verpackung werden die temperaturempfindlichen und zerbrechlichen Amen-Duftkerzen sicher in die ganze Welt verschickt. Algen- und Pflanzenbasierte Materialien nutzt das britische Cleantech-Unternehmen Notpla, um Einwegverpackungen möglichst zu vermeiden. So können die essbaren Verpackungen einfach zusammen mit dem Getränk verschluckt werden. urnfold stellt handgemachte Schmuckurnen aus hochwertigen Papieren her. Dabei stehen drei Dinge im Vordergrund: Nachhaltigkeit, zeitgemäße Ästhetik und die Unterstützung einer persönlicheren Trauerkultur. Das Material Papier erfüllt den eigentlichen Nutzen einer Schmuckurne: sie dient einer optischen und emotionalen Aufwertung der vorgeschriebenen Aschenkapsel und zersetzt sich im Erdreich vollständig und ohne Rückstände.

Amaze
Verblüffend überzeugend sind die Verpackungskonzepte der Designerinnen Hélène Fontaine (Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule Halle) und Sarah Klein. Die Nutzungsfreundlichkeit von abgepackten Lebensmitteln lässt oft zu wünschen übrig – kleine, schlecht greifbare Laschen oder festsitzende Deckel erschweren die Handhabung besonders für Menschen mit körperlichen Einschränkungen. Durch den hervorstehenden Fuß der Schale und die verlängerte Lasche der Deckfolie lässt sich die Verpackung „i-si“ von Hélène Fontaine auch mit wenig Kraft oder sogar einhändig problemlos öffnen. Der „ReWrap“ von Sarah Klein ist eine innovative Lösung, um Food-To-Go zu transportieren. Er kann durch verschiedene Falt- und Wickeltechniken flexibel genutzt werden. Die Verpackung für Pommes usw. ähnelt gestalterisch einer klassischen Pommesverpackung. Ein Falafel wird aber wie gewohnt eingewickelt. „ReWrap“ kann bis zu 4000-mal wiederverwendet, in einem Pfandsystem angeboten werden und verhindert effizient Abfall.

Weitere Ausstellerinnen und Aussteller in der Sonderausstellung sind: Kebag (Döner-Verpackung), outnature (Verpackungen aus Silphie-Pflanzenfasern), Philips Hue smart lighting (interaktive Verpackung mit Farbwechselmechanismus), Syntegon (Blister meets paper), Van Genechten Packaging (100 % recyclefähige Schokoladenverpackung PurePac ohne zusätzliches Einschlagmaterial), Vöslauer ( Edition „Artists for Tomorrow“) und zerooo Mehrwegsystem (Mehrweg-Tiegel und Pfandflasche).

Analog zu den drei Kategorien der Sonderschau legen die Vortragenden am Mittwoch, den 28. September, von 13:00 -14:00 Uhr in der PACKBOX einen Fokus auf das Verpackungsdesign als Kommunikationsträger, als Mittel zur Interaktion und als Einsatzfeld nachhaltiger Materialentwicklung und erläutern ihre Konzepte live. Es sprechen die Verpackungsexperten Thilo Reichert (snoopstar), die Unternehmerin Sabine Bingenheimer (Produktfabrik), Margaux Deguerre (Leitung Marketing Notpla) und die Gründerin Kristina Steinhauf (Urnfold).

Pressekontakt
Dr. Kilian Steiner
+49 176 45536984
steiner@bayern-design.de