OK … Bavaria stands for: Men in Lederhosen and women in Dirndls (traditional dresses), beer, pork Schweinshaxen (knuckles), Knödel (dumplings), Brezeln and Weißwürste, Oktoberfest, FC Bayern Munich, BMW (75.000 employees), Audi, Allianz, Adidas, Siemens, Alps, Allgäu, Munich, Nuremberg, Augsburg, Dachau, Altötting, Chiemsee, Starnberger See, and all the other lakes, Neuschwanstein Castle (logo template Disney), Kraus-Maffei Wegmann, Airbus and MTU (most German arms exports come from Bavaria), Deutsches Museum, Pinakotheken, Neue Sammlung, Münchner Kammerspiele, Bayerische Oper, Wagner-Festspiele, Karl Valentin, Gerhard Polt, Lothar Matthäus (“I hope we have a little bit lucky”) …

Stop. In the case of Bavaria, the list of clichés can be extended indefinitely.

Until the 1950s, many still considered Bavaria to be an agricultural state—an image that even then stood for only one side of the Free State.  In 1972, the Olympic Games in Munich presented the world with a civilian Federal Republic that had shed the dull gray of the post-war years and was openly looking to the future. The Weltstadt mit Herz (World City with Heart) was proclaimed. Though “The games must go on.”—Avery Brundage, then president of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), declared at the funeral service for the eleven members of the Israeli team killed the day before …

Clearly, Bavaria is rich. Rich in creativity, diversity, and intelligence.

With the help of bayern design, we tracked down designers, artists, photographers, illustrators, and crafters—all people who love their region (almost a third of the Bavarian population prefers to spend their vacations in their own state) and are passionate about what they do. Clearly, Bavaria is rich. Rich in creativity, diversity, and intelligence. Our research uncovered so many findings that this issue could easily have been many times more extensive. It’s a typically Bavarian dilemma we have to face: Immer etwas zu viel des Guten! (There’s always more good stuff than you can enjoy). And we think that’s really good! Because life is really good here. Servus!

Order now

Slanted Special Issue Bavaria

Editor, Publisher: Slanted Publishers
Release: Jule 2022

Volume: 192 pages, Format: 16 × 24 cm
Language: English

Bookbinding: Open stitch binding
Printer: Offset, Stober Medien

ISBN: 978-3-948440-40-4
Price: € 14.– / $ 15.50

Supported by bayern design and the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development, and Energy.

OK … Bay­ern steht für: Män­ner in Leder­ho­sen und Frau­en in Dirndl, Bier, Schweins­ha­xen, Knö­del, Bre­zeln und Weiß­würs­te, Okto­ber­fest, FC Bay­ern Mün­chen, BMW (75.000 Mit­ar­bei­ter), Audi, Alli­anz, Adi­das, Sie­mens, Alpen, All­gäu, Mün­chen, Nürn­berg, Augs­burg, Dach­au, Alt­öt­ting, Chiem­see, Starn­ber­ger See und alle ande­ren Seen, Schloss Neu­schwan­stein (Vor­la­ge des Dis­ney-Logos), Kraus-Maff­ei Weg­mann, Air­bus und MTU (die meis­ten deut­schen Waf­fen­ex­por­te kom­men aus Bay­ern), Deut­sches Muse­um, Pina­ko­the­ken, Die Neue Samm­lung, Münch­ner Kam­mer­spie­le, Baye­ri­sche Oper, Wag­ner-Fest­spie­le, Karl Valen­tin, Ger­hard Polt, Lothar Mat­thä­us (»I hope we have a litt­le bit lucky«) …

Stop. Bei Bay­ern kann die Lis­te der Kli­schees unend­lich wei­ter­ge­führt werden.

Noch bis in die 1950er Jah­re galt Bay­ern für vie­le als Agrar­land – ein Bild, das schon damals nur für eine Sei­te des Frei­staa­tes stand. Die Olym­pi­schen Spie­le in Mün­chen prä­sen­tier­ten 1972 der Welt eine zivil gepräg­te Bun­des­re­pu­blik, die das trü­be Grau der Nach­kriegs­jah­re abge­legt hat­te und offen nach vor­ne blick­te. Die »Welt­stadt mit Herz« wur­de aus­ge­ru­fen. »The games must go« sag­te Avery Brunda­ge, der dama­li­ge Prä­si­dent des Inter­na­tio­na­len Olym­pi­schen Komi­tees (IOC), bei der Trau­er­fei­er für die am Tag zuvor getö­te­ten elf Mit­glie­der der israe­li­schen Mann­schaft bei den Olym­pi­schen Spie­len 1972.

Uns war klar, Bay­ern ist reich. Reich an Krea­ti­vi­tät, Viel­falt und Intelligenz.

Mit Hil­fe von bay­ern design haben wir Desi­gne­rin­nen, Künst­le­rin­nen, Foto­gra­fen, Illus­tra­to­rin­nen und Hand­wer­ker aus­fin­dig gemacht – alles Men­schen, die ihre Regi­on lie­ben (fast ein Drit­tel der baye­ri­schen Bevöl­ke­rung ver­bringt ihren Urlaub am liebs­ten im eige­nen Bun­des­land) und mit Lei­den­schaft bei der Sache sind. Uns war klar, Bay­ern ist reich. Reich an Krea­ti­vi­tät, Viel­falt und Intel­li­genz. Doch hat uns die Recher­che so viel Fund­stü­cke beschert, dass die­se Aus­ga­be ohne Pro­ble­me um ein viel­fa­ches umfang­rei­cher hät­te sein kön­nen. Mit die­sem Dilem­ma müs­sen wir leben. Eben typisch bay­risch: Immer etwas zu viel des Guten! Und das fin­den wir rich­tig gut. Servus!

Bestell­in­fos

Slan­ted Spe­cial Issue Bavaria

Her­aus­ge­ber, Ver­lag: Slan­ted Publishers
Ver­öf­fent­li­chung: Juli 2022

Umfang: 192 Sei­ten; For­mat: 16 × 24 cm
Spra­che: Englisch

Druck: Off­set, Sto­ber Medien
Buch­bin­dung: Offe­ne Fadenheftung

ISBN: 978–3‑948440–40‑4
Preis: € 14,– / $ 15,50

Unter­stützt durch bay­ern design und das Baye­ri­sche Staats­mi­nis­te­ri­um für Wirt­schaft, Lan­des­ent­wick­lung und Energie.