The dependencies on crude oil, coal and natural gas are no longer up to date and, above all, harmful for climate, environment and health. Now the age of biobased raw materials and a circular economy - the bioeconomy - is dawning! Bringing the goals of the bioeconomy closer to the public is the challenge of the project "Look@BioEconomy", which is funded by the network "Science, Art and Design". For the execution, the Fraunhofer IGB invites artists to apply by December 1, 2022 with a sketch for a work of art or design.

If the application is successful, the Fraunhofer Institute will grant, among other things, insights into the current research work of the institute, access to new, biobased materials and high media attention through accompanying video and podcast recordings.

During the project period (January 9 - July 14, 2023), Fraunhofer IGB will provide comprehensive support in implementing the project idea. Material costs of € 5000 and an allowance of € 1500 / month are provided for the period of elaboration of the artwork (max. 6 months).

Further information and an application form can be found here.

4. November 2022

Bio­öko­no­mie und Design

Ausschreibung

Die Abhängigkeiten von Erdöl, Kohle und Erdgas sind nicht mehr zeitgemäß und vor allem schädlich für Klima, Umwelt und Gesundheit. Jetzt bricht das Zeitalter der biobasierten Rohstoffe und einer kreislauforientierten Wirtschaftsweise – der Bioökonomie – an! Die Ziele der Bioökonomie der Öffentlichkeit näherzubringen, das ist die Herausforderung des Projektes »Look@BioEconomy«, das durch das Netzwerk »Wissenschaft, Kunst und Design« gefördert wird. Für die Ausführung lädt das Fraunhofer IGB Kunstschaffende ein, sich bis zum 1. Dezember 2022 mit einer Skizze für ein Kunst- oder Designwerk zu bewerben.

Bei erfolgreicher Bewerbung gewährt das Fraunhofer Institut u. a. Einblicke in die aktuellen Forschungsarbeiten des Instituts, Zugang zu neuen, biobasierten Materialien und eine hohe mediale Aufmerksamkeit durch begleitende Video- und Podcast-Aufnahmen.

Während der Projektlaufzeit (9. Januar - 14. Juli 2023) unterstützt das Fraunhofer IGB umfassend bei der Umsetzung der Projektidee. Materialkosten in Höhe von 5000 € und eine Vergütung in Höhe von 1500 € / Monat sind für den Zeitraum der Ausarbeitung des Kunstwerks (max. 6 Monate) vorgesehen.

Weitere Informationen und ein Bewerbungsformular gibt es hier.