24. February 2016

MCBW 2016 Reception

Munich literally gave a warm welcome to the guests at the MCBW 2016 Reception on February 22; the spring-like temperatures were a real treat for the more than 400 fans of design who gathered at BMW Welt. Dr. Silke Claus, Managing Director of bayern design, and Ralph Wiegmann, Managing Director of iF, were among the speakers.

In his presentation, keynote speaker Guillaume Alvarez, Senior Vice President of Steelcase, shared special insight into his industry, emphasizing that design does more than represent creativity, it creates emotions.

David Pappie, Director of the Top Sectors at the Dutch Ministry of the Economy, was invited as a representative of the Netherlands, this year’s MCBW partner country. The creative sector in the Netherlands will introduce itself at MCBW 2016 as a driver of innovation for a better future. Cross-discipline design that addresses social and economic issues will be in the limelight.

One of the guests of honor at the reception was Ilse Aigner, Bavarian State Minister for Economic Affairs, Media, Energy and Technology. She drew attention to the exceptional role of good design and stated that the links between design and the economy are the key to self-confident, daring innovations.

Munich is the ideal site for the country’s largest design-oriented event of international renown.

Josef Schmid, Deputy Mayor of the City of Munich, emphasized the impact of MCBW on the region. He declared the event a showcase for creativity in the industry. Design Connects Visions for Economy, he added, is the ideal motto for a show that fosters dialog among creative people.

The reception was an excellent starting point for many productive discussions. In a convivial atmosphere, ideas were shared and momentum was kick-started.

One of the highlights of the gathering was a unique fashion show titled twilight Eden. Students of Deutsche Meisterschule für Mode and of Designschule München displayed 39 garments created from select FEDRIGONI fine papers.

24. Februar 2016

MCBW 2016 Empfang

Warm Welcome in München – bei frühlingshaften Temperaturen hat die bayerische Hauptstadt seine Gäste zum MCBW Empfang am 22. Februar besonders herzlich begrüßt. Im Doppelkegel der BMW Welt haben sich über 400 Designbegeisterte eingefunden, um den Worten von Dr. Silke Claus, Geschäftsführerin von bayern design, und Ralph Wiegmann, iF Managing Director, zu lauschen.

Design stehe nicht nur für kreative Gestaltung, mit Design erreiche man auch Emotionen, so auch Guillaume Alvarez, Senior Vice President von Steelcase, der als Key-Sprecher der Veranstaltung einen besonderen Eindruck seiner Branche vermitteln konnte.

Als Stellvertreter des diesjährigen Partnerlandes der MCBW war David Pappie, Direktor der Topsektoren im niederländischen Wirtschaftsministerium, eingeladen. Die niederländische Kreativwirtschaft präsentiert sich während der MCBW 2016 als Innovationsmotor für eine bessere Zukunft. Vor allem die interdisziplinäre Gestaltung rückt in den Mittelpunkt und beschäftigt sich mit sozialen sowie wirtschaftlichen Fragen.

Unter den Ehrengästen war auch Ilse Aigner, die bayerische Staatsministerin für Wirtschaft, Medien, Energie und Technologie, eingeladen. Sie hat die besondere Rolle guter Gestaltung hervorgehoben: Gerade in der Verbindung von Design und Wirtschaft stecke der Schlüssel für selbstbewusste und mutige Innovationen.

München ist ein idealer Standort für Deutschlands größtes Designevent mit internationalem Charakter.

So betont auch Josef Schmid, zweiter Bürgermeister von München, die besondere Wirkung der MCBW für die Region: Hier werde die starke kreative Branche sichtbar gemacht. ‘Design Connects Visions For Economy‘ sei das ideale Motto für eine Veranstaltung, die Kreative miteinander ins Gespräch bringe.

Der Empfang 2016 war ein guter Ausgangspunkt für zahlreiche produktive Dialoge. Ideen wurden in geselliger Atmosphäre ausgetauscht, neue Impulse gewonnen.

Ein Highlight des diesjährigen Empfangs war schließlich die außergewöhnliche Modenschau twilight Eden: 39 Papierkreationen der Deutschen Meisterschule für Mode, Designschule München aus ausgewählten FEDRIGONI Feinstpapieren sind dem staunenden Publikum vorgestellt worden.